Future One-Hit Wonders

One-hit wonders come and go so fast sometimes you don’t even realize it. A couple years ago it was, “Who?! Mike Jones!!!”. Now whenever I mention Mike Jones its “Who??”. The thing is, a one-hit wonder has to be given time to solidify, you never know when a possible artist with only one hit song will bust back into the scene and be popular again. These are a few likely artists to be featured in the top 10 hip hop one hit wonders of 2015.

Soulja Boy
Hit Song: Crank Dat

Don’t deny it. Yuuuuuuuuu! know the song and you probably even know the dance. This track was HUGE, the seventeen year-old made millions of this track and even more off the deals that followed. Because it was so big Soulja Boy is a classic case of a future one-hit wonder, look at the history, the bigger the hit, the more likely the artist will be remembered for only that one song.
Hurricane Chris
Hit Song: A Bay Bay

Although Hurricane Chris has made some hits since A Bay Bay, that is the song he will be remembered for. I can just imagine 10 or 15 years from now looking back at this song and saying, “Oh yeah I remember this song! It played non-stop on the radio and the guy who sung it had beads in his hair, I forget his name.”



M.I.A.
Hit Song: Paper Planes

The thing about this song is that it actually has a deeper message than what meets the ear. MIA had this to say about the songs lyrics,
“I was going to get patties at my local and just thinking that really the worst thing that anyone can say [to someone these days] is some **** like: ”What I wanna do is come and get your money.” People don’t really feel like immigrants or refugees contribute to culture in any way. That they’re just leeches that suck from whatever. So in the song I say All I wanna do is [sound of gun shooting and reloading, cash register opening] and take your money. I did it in sound effects. It’s up to you how you want to interpret. America is so obsessed with money, I’m sure they’ll get it. “
 Still, it is perfect for a one-hit wonder especially because M.I.A. is an international artist. It’s hard for an artist to break into the US mainstream with one song, to do it twice is unlikely.

Leave a comment