What The F*ck Is A Jay Electronica?

The title exactly reflects my thought process when I first heard of this artist. Then when I was told that Jay Electronica was a person, a musician at that, I assumed he was some techno guy, you know like Daft Punk and all that. Nope, it turns out this guy is a rapper from New Orleans. So I googled him and guess what DIDN’T come up, a Wikipedia page!
So I check his Myspace, no ‘About Me’.
So then I came across this interview he had with URB.com, it turns out that information on this guy is a known fault. But what I did find out is that the 31 years old has released his music mainly over the internet and that he is co-signed by both Erykah Badu and Just Blaze.

After listening to this mixtape I know why.
The production is very clear and there are some dope tracks throughout the album but the main thing that caught me was Jay’s flow. His voice reminds me of a more relaxed Busta Rhymes and his personal style is very reminiscent of Nas. 
A lot of the tracks have samples from various movies as they are a big inspiration for Jay Electronica. Like on the track “Eternal Sunshine (The Pledge)” that dude literally drops verses over the movie score from Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind. Now tell me that’s not creative!
Don’t mistake him for an alternative artsy rapper though. This guy can drop a hard verse too, for example “Uzi Weighs A Ton” where Jay establishes himself as not one to mess with over an erie beat.
Every song on this mixtape has a different sound and something unique that makes it good. Overall I would say that Jay isn’t exactly a future legend as a lyricist but definitely one to look out for in the future. He brings hard to hipster rap.
T Dub

Leave a comment