Album Review: Ill Bill – The Hour Of Reprisal

Ill Bill hits back with his latest release titled The Hour of Reprisal. Now I’ve played this somewhere between 2 and 3 times today so it by no means is a complete review of the whole album. Such is Ill Bill and his compatriates Non Phixion that it can take years before you actually get everything they talk about in their lyrics. The Hour of Reprisal is no different.

Starting off with the track Babylon, Ill Bill sets the tone for the political underlay and hidden agendas that much of the album is focussed upon. It’s no surprise to find Immortal Technique on this release but what is interesting is that in the track War is my Destiny the great Metal legend Max Cavalera of Sepultura and Soulfly fame adds his vocal talents to the chorus.


The album is laced with sampled guitars and metal riffs underlying Ill Bill’s summary of how he sees the world. Make no mistake behind the self professed “I’m a Goon” as track 17 proudly states there is a man who definitely spends a lot of his time reading the unorthodox releases that discuss the motivations behind our world leaders policy making. It’s not always a pretty sight but for someone like myself who seeks to understand the way our world works and the ever ticking clock of time it is insightful, if not a tad scary at times.


One of the key tracks is U.B.S. the Unauthorized Biography of Slayer where Ill Bill takes his own version of Nas’ Unauthorized Biography of Rakim to another level whilst discussing the origins and history of Heavy Metal God’s Slayer. This underlies Bills’ Metal Background which was his first musical endeavour before forming Non Phixion.


My favourite tracks and bare in mind I’ve only listened to it for the first time today are White *****, The Most Dangerous Weapon Alive, I’m a Goon, War is my Destiny, Babylon and Doomsday was Written in an Alien Bible.


If you like stuff like Immortal Technique, Chino XL, Dead Prez or even Non Phixion and Ill Bill you won’t be dissapointed by this release. It even features several classic Uncle Howie skits.

By Drab1ne

One Response to “Album Review: Ill Bill – The Hour Of Reprisal”

  1. Guy Fawkes Says:

    I dunno, I love Chino, Immortal Technique… and Ill Bill’s first release “What’s Wrong With Bill” cost me 17 dollars… it is the ONLY album I have ever bought to this day. And I don’t for one fucking second regret it.
    But this album was a severe disappointment… too metal tinged for my liking, and Uncle Howie Records is really straying away from their roots… I’m very sad to hear Ill Bill’s fucking with Tech N9ne now… there goes the career of an insane lyricist… still props for reviewing this album (not something you find on every site).

Leave a comment