HHP Exclusive Interview: Wordsworth


eMC is a four man group of rappers led by Masta Ace. They came together far an album, The Show (Wiki), which was released in march of this year. That album has to be in the top five most overlooked albums of 2008. 

I had the chance to conduct a quick online interview with Wordsworth of eMC…

What up Wordsworth, thanks for doing this like I said I’m a big fan of your work. Here are the questions…

T Dub: Who were some of your influences when you were growing up?


Words: My cousin Elliot, his freestyle skills, Run-DMC, Kool G Rap, KRS-One,
and Eric B. and Rakim.

T Dub:  You have worked with some pretty renowned producers like, Da Beatminerz, DJ Static, and Ayatollah. Out of all of the producers you have worked with, who was your favorite?

Words: It would be between Curt Gowdy and Da Beatminerz because the time I spend with them making the records isn’t limited. I don’t just get the track and keep it moving, I actually go to their house and build on the song.

T Dub: You have released albums both as solo and group projects, which is an easier process?


Words: Solo is easier, you don’t have to worry about no one else’s view. You can write a song and be done with it, you don’t have to wait on no one else to write. Group wise you have less to write but various opinions.

T Dub: The members of eMC have been collaborating for years, but when and how did the group officially form?

Words: The group officially formed in 2005 after a good response for a song 4 brothers.

T Dub: So I saw your “battle” with George Bush video, thought it was a great concept, but while we are on the topic, who are you supporting in this years election?

Words: I’m supporting Obama because I agree with his stance on the war, healthcare, helping the common man and his propositions of actually correcting this flawed government.
T Dub: The Show is based on a day in the life of eMC while touring, although I know it can be a tiring experience, do you enjoy it? If so, what is your favorite part? If not, why?

Yeah I enjoy it, because you realize someone shares your views around the world. My favorite part is being on stage, allowing people to see you live that have only heard your music.

T Dub: Thanks for taking the time to do this.

“And If Ya Don’t Know, Now Ya Know, Nigga”

Leave a comment